Call for Scores

alienor_logoCall for Scores:

The Ninth Aliénor International
Harpsichord Composition Competition

Click here to download and print the entry form

Description and Guidelines

–  The finalists’ concert will be part of HKSNA’s annual conference to be held at McGill University, Montreal, Canada in Spring 2015.
– The composition must be for solo harpsichord. It may consist of one movement or several short movements. The composition should be suitable for students and non-professionals, but composers are free to include technical and musical challenges.
–  The duration of the work must be 5-8 minutes.
–  The work should not exceed the range of 5 octaves (FF-f”’) and should be playable on a classical two-manual harpsichord (2 x 8’, 1 x 4’, and lute stop). Required registration of the work should not include 16-foot registers or pedals.
–  No amplification, live electronics, or pre-recorded media is to be used.
–  The use of historical temperaments is encouraged but not required.
–  The composition should be submitted in letter-size or A4 format.
–  The composer’s name must not appear on the score, CD recording, or any accompanying materials submitted electronically.

The Aliénor Awards

–  A panel of four judges will review the submissions using the criteria of musical quality, inventiveness, and adherence to the above guidelines.
–  Up to six finalists will be selected and announced by January 1, 2015 at:
–  Each finalist will be awarded USD 800. Finalists’ compositions will be performed at the HKSNA annual meeting to be held at McGill University, Montreal, Canada in Spring 2015.
–  Additional cash prizes will be awarded to three top winners selected by the audience at the finalists’ concert.

Entry Eligibility

–  The competition is open to any composer regardless of age or nationality.
–  Only one entry per composer may be submitted.
–  Works must have been written in the last 10 years, and must not have been submitted to any previous Aliénor competitions.
–  There is no entry fee.

Submission Requirements

–  Together with a completed entry form, send two hard copies of the composition and two CD recording copies (WITHOUT the composer’s name or any identifying information) to:

3 Sylvan Road
Durham, NC 27701-2849

–  Additionally, send an MP3 file (live or computer-generated) of the composition, accompanied by a PDF copy of the score (WITHOUT the composer’s name or any identifying information) to

Notes for the Composers

–  The composer retains copyright of the composition.
–  Even if the score is selected as a finalist in the Competition, the composer can still enter into an agreement with a publisher to publish the score.
–  By submitting a score to the Competition, the composer agrees to allow the Competition:
–  to disseminate the score to judges
–  to disseminate scores to performers who will be directly involved with performances related to the Competition
–  to archive scores for the purposes of historical value and for study by scholars
–  The Competition might publish an anthology of the finalists or honorable mention compositions, for which the composers agree to in advance.
–  The composers agree to forego any royalties, but instead get the honor of having their music disseminated to a wider audience.
–  The anthology is sold through the usual outlets and the Competition gets the proceeds.

Entry deadline

–  Postmarked by October 1, 2014.

For questions please email