About HKSNA

THE HISTORICAL KEYBOARD SOCIETY OF NORTH AMERICA is a United States-based non-profit organization comprised of members who love and promote early keyboard instruments like those pictured here, and the music written for them.

Formed in 2012 by the merger of the Midwestern Historical Keyboard Society (MHKS) and the Southeastern Historical Keyboard Society (SEHKS), its members include instrument builders, players, teachers, and scholars, as well as many who merely love the looks and sounds of these beautiful instruments.

HKSNA also sponsors an international harpsichord performance competition for young performers (the Mae and Irving Jurow International Harpsichord Competition) and a composition competition, promoting new music for early keyboard instruments (the Aliénor International Harpsichord Composition Competition). Many members also attend our Annual Meeting/Conference, held in the spring of each year in various locations around the USA. These exciting events feature concerts, lectures, scholarly paper readings, and exhibits of scores, books, recordings, and beautiful early keyboard instruments, as well as much convivial collegiality.

 

Officers and Board of Directors

 

Sonia Lee, President (2018) <sonia.m.lee@gmail.com>
David C. Kelzenberg, Vice President (2018) <david-kelzenberg@uiowa.edu>
Rebecca Pechefsky, Secretary (2019) <rpechefsky@gmail.com>
Dan McHugh, Treasurer (2019) <dmchughhksna@gmail.com>

 

Elaine Funaro, Immediate Past President <e.funaro@gmail.com>

Mario Aschauer (2020) <mail@mario-aschauer.com>

Carol lei Breckenridge (2020) <carolleibreckenridge@gmail.com>

Robert Brooke (2020) <rbrooke@tampabay.rr.com>

Ruta Bloomfield (2019) <rbloomfield@masters.edu>

Joe Gascho (2019) <joseph.gascho@gmail.com>

Frances Fitch (2019) <fcfitch@verizon.net>

Martha Folts (2018) <mfolts@umich.edu>

Patrick Hawkins (2018) <organos@gmail.com>

Max Yount (2018) <maxyount@gmail.com>

 

Other Representatives

 

Early Keyboard Journal Editor: John Koster <John.Koster@usd.edu>
Early Keyboard Journal Manager: Currently open

Jurow Competition Director: Vivian Montgomery <vmontgomery@verizon.net>
Aliénor Project Director: Elaine Funaro <e.funaro@gmail.com>

Newsletter Editor: Sonia Lee <sonia.m.lee@gmail.com>

Webmaster: Nicholas Good <nickgood@ix.netcom.com>

International Advisory Panel

Malcolm Bilson
Jane Clark
Jorg Demus
Kenneth Gilbert
Christopher Hogwood (+)
Richard Kingston
Gustav Leonhardt (+)
Davitt Moroney
Lilian Pruett
Richard Rephann (+)
Peter Williams (+)