THE HISTORICAL KEYBOARD SOCIETY OF NORTH AMERICA is a United States-based non-profit organization comprised of members who love and promote early keyboard instruments like those pictured here, and the music written for them.

Formed in 2012 by the merger of the Midwestern Historical Keyboard Society (MHKS) and the Southeastern Historical Keyboard Society (SEHKS), its members include instrument builders, players, teachers, and scholars, as well as many who merely love the looks and sounds of these beautiful instruments.

HKSNA also sponsors an international harpsichord performance competition for young performers (the Mae and Irving Jurow International Harpsichord Competition) and a composition competition, promoting new music for early keyboard instruments (the Aliénor International Harpsichord Composition Competition). Many members also attend our Annual Meeting/Conference, held in the spring of each year in various locations around the USA. These exciting events feature concerts, lectures, scholarly paper readings, and exhibits of scores, books, recordings, and beautiful early keyboard instruments, as well as much convivial collegiality.


Officers and Board of Directors

Sonia Lee, President (2018)
David C. Kelzenberg, Vice President (2018)
Sally Todd, Secretary (2017)
Helen Skuggedal Reed, Treasurer (2017)


Ruta Bloomfield (2019)
Frances Fitch (2019)
Joseph Gascho (2019)
Martha Folts (2018)
Patrick Hawkins (2018)
Max Yount (2018)
Anne Acker (2017)
Jordan Friedman (2017)
Michael Tsalka (2017)
Elaine Funaro (immediate past president)


Other Representatives

Jurow Competition Director: Vivian Montgomery
Early Keyboard Journal Editor: John Koster
Early Keyboard Journal Manager: Oliver Finney
Newsletter Editor: Sonia Lee
Webmaster: Nicholas Good


International Advisory Panel

Malcolm Bilson
Jane Clark
Jorg Demus
Kenneth Gilbert
Christopher Hogwood (+)
Richard Kingston
Gustav Leonhardt (+)
Davitt Moroney
Lilian Pruett
Richard Rephann (+)
Peter Williams (+)